Odds and ends..

As promised, photos of some projects I’ve finished this week, as well as some new ones started and planned..

9-to-5 socks:
(All pictures are clickable thumbnails; click them to load a larger version)

I really love this sock pattern – the “fake” cabling is very easy and looks great and I really love the detail on the heel with the combination of the cable down the side of the heel flap and picking up the stitches so the selvedge stitches show on the outside. These were knit as a gift for a friend and co-worker, but I suspect I’ll make a pair for myself at some point, too. They were knit with KnitPicks Gloss in Woodland Sage on US1 needles.

White Lies DesignsEasy Lace Jacket:
Finished Jacket, with an attempt to make it look interesting..
Sleeve detail
Collar detail

This was definitely easy – knit with Cascade 220 on US 8 needles – and it looks nifty, but I think if I were to do it again, I would try to add shaping to the sleeves. They are the same width the whole length of the sleeve, so they’re baggier than I’d like at the wrists and the points don’t bell out as much as I think they should. I’m also trying to decide if I would want the sleeves to be longer so that the lace really covers my hands.. I think that would annoy me more than not, though, but as it is now, the seam where the lace joins the sleeve is about mid-forearm and it’s a little odd. I’ll pr’bly try to do some steam ironing of the cuffs to see if I can get them to bell a bit more, and I need to either tack down the back of the collar or steam block it out a bit more.

Peacock Feathers Shawl from Fiddlesticks Knitting:
Pattern and yarn – Jaggerspun Zephyr Wool-Silk in Marine Blue
Half-way through the first chart

This one will be a gift for a friend’s wife for their anniversary. It’s really gorgeous yarn and the pattern is well written if a little futzy-seeming after the Easy Lace Jacket! I have a little over a month to finish this one, which is making me a little nervous given how busy things have been lately.

And this is the big box o’ yarn that I have for other gift knitting.. there’s a couple sweater’s worth of Galway in there.

7 thoughts on “Odds and ends..

  1. Cathy-Cate says:

    Ooooh!
    Mmmmm!
    Aaaaah!

    Well, okay, it’s not fireworks, but very impressive FOs!

    I *love* the colors that you are drawn to — we must have the same (exquisite, of course!) taste.

    I am, down the road, to be knitting a different but similar White Lies cardigan for Miss Rose — the Angelina Vintage jacket. The construction is a bit different, and the ribbing looks like it would draw things in on the sleeves, but I’ll bear your pattern notes in mind as I knit. (There are, however, two scarves, at least one pair of fingerless mitts, a wedding shawl and one and a half socks to go before the cardi! So it will be quite a while. Christmas, apparently.)

  2. Judy G. says:

    I have been looking at the peacock shawl pattern on my desk for a year; not quite there yet. Great job on the sweater! I love the detail you added to the sleeves and the collar.

  3. Katie says:

    All very impressive – I love your color choices for all. The socks are especially nice.

  4. Janet says:

    Ooooh I love those socks, and the color is fantastic! The sweater is gorgeous, too. How creative you are 🙂

  5. Kim says:

    Oh my………that Jacket in that colorway is stunning!!

  6. Tonyia says:

    OMG, I left a comment on the wrong day!! I wanted to comment on the White Lies jacket on this entry! Do you like it alot? The knitting looks fabulous! Great job.

  7. IRIS L FOWLER says:

    Hi-this is a first time writing-but I really need help with the “Easy lace jacket” Do you have any idea where I can get help. The pattern is very easy-it’s the charts I have a problem with. I just figured out the sleeve chart-but after row 18 am I to start again by casting on 16 st or repeat the 16 row pattern. If I do that I have to cast on more than 16 sts. My mine has shut down and I know Iam making this hard. The pattern doesn’t say work the repeat and place on holder to pick up later. PLEASE HELP. I WAS PROUD WHEN I READ THE CHART. Forget the collar-Iam sorry I ordered this now. The think is I’ve worked lace before but this……
    thanks
    irisfowler@yahoo.com

Leave a comment