Coffee Swap Questionnaire

Whee! As I mentioned yesterday, I’ve already been in touch with my pal for the Coffee Swap, but I’ve been terribly remiss in keeping up with the group blog. So I’m a little late getting the questions answered, but I s’pose better late than never!

1. Whole bean or ground? I can go either way. We have a grinder, but usually buy pre-ground for daily stuff since we’re not worried about it “spoiling”.

2. Fully-loaded or decaf? Again, either way. I can’t have caffeine after about noon, but sometimes like a hot cuppa in the afternoons or evening, so we usually have both on hand.

3. Regular or flavored? Um. either.. sensing a trend yet?

4. How do you drink your coffee? Oh, look! One I can answer definitively! Cream (not milk, not powder), no sugar. I do sometimes drink the flavored creamers, but they’re often too sweet for my taste. A well-brewed cup of coffee with just cream is perfect.

5. Favorite coffee ever? Huh. That’s a good question. Jack swears that the coffee from the Olive Garden is the best in the world, and I agree that it’s good, but I’m not sure I’d rave about it quite the way he does. I can describe what I like – not bitter, not dark, flavorful and robust – but I’m not sure I can come up with a specific one to represent.

6. Are you fussy about your coffee or will any old bean do? It depends. *smile* I think it depends on the occasion. For the sort of typical daily morning coffee, just about any old bean will do. But if I’m sitting down to relax with a cuppa, I want it to *taste* good. Rich and .. this is going to seem a bit odd, but nutty is the best I can come up with to describe it, and I’m not talking about nut-flavored coffee. There’s a .. quality to taste that strikes me as nutty; I find it in dark, malty beers that I like, too. Sorry that’s not much help!

7. Favorite treats to have with your coffee? Oohh.. cookies. I actually rather like biscotti, though I really rarely ever get it because it’s so much better fresh than pre-packaged. But I like good butter cookies with coffee, too; something a little rich, but not overly sweet. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate – I like it in some things, but can’t do the death-by-chocolate type desserts – but I tend to enjoy coffee with dessert, particularly if it’s something served ala mode! Oh, and canoli, but I haven’t been able to find good canoli since I lived in upstate NY.. mMm..

8. Anything else about your coffee preferences? I lived in Seattle for several years and learned that I’m not fond of Starbucks and that Seattle’s Best, while tasty, isn’t quite.. right. Tully’s was usually my preferred. Not that that’s likely to be much help, but if you’re familiar with those three, it might! Oh, and Caribou is good, but if I’m going to be in a Caribou, I usually will opt for a froufrou drink (I like the pumpkin spice latte things they have now) since their drip coffee is sort of hit-or-miss for me in terms of how dark/acidic/bitter it is.

9. Yarn/fiber you love? Hrm.. most of them? Actually, I take that back. It depends on what I’m going to make with it. I’m very much a project-knitter – I don’t tend to buy yarn just to have the yarn; I buy yarn for specific projects. For socks and the like, something squishy but that will wear well. For sweaters or other larger garments, something that won’t pill too much. For shawls and lace-type stuff, I can go just about any direction. There’s lots of sock yarns out there that are truly gorgeous, but for which I have a hard time finding a pattern I’d like with the yarn, so there’s that, too. I’m intrigued by silk, but haven’t knit anything with it largely because it tends to run pricey and I’d be afraid whatever it was wouldn’t turn out exactly right. :/

10. Yarn/fiber you hate? Bulky yarns; it hurts my hands to have to manipulate needles that are really large with the weight of something knit in bulky yarn. Most of the novelty yarns or carry-along yarns – I just.. I think it’s that I don’t wear a lot of flashy or extravagent things, so I’m never quite sure what I would do with a novelty yarn in a garment. I also am not fond of the pre-patterned “fake fair isle” type yarns, but I love hand-dyed and how it pools. The only caveat to hand-dyed, is that I’ve learned that I don’t like it when it has too many colors and when the colors pool in pairs so you end up with stripes of two colors alternating. So I guess that means long repeats and/or subtle color shifts.
11. What’s on your needles? Holiday and other gift knitting: a sweater (worsted weight, mostly plain stockinette at the moment); the Peacock Feathers shaw; Charade socks; and once the Charade socks are done, I’ll be casting on for a DNA scarf.

12. Favorite colors? Rich, deep, saturated colors. I’m not sure I can wear a deep orange as a sweater, but I can wear just about anything as socks.

13. Allergies? Nickel. This will only matter if you intend to get me accessories, though!

14. Anything you really love, really don’t like, or just need to get off your chest? Patterns are always neat – especially patterns for sock yarns that either aren’t socks everyone’s making or aren’t socks. I knit in the car on our commute frequently, so socks are a great travel knit, but I get kind of tied up about patterns so suggestions or links or actual patterns would be nifty. I like cables and lace both, even together, and patterns that can hold up to hand-dyed yarns without losing the pattern or making the yarn look like a jumbled mess. Oh, and just in case, I’m verymelm on Ravelry!

I think this was precisely the thing I needed to boost my mood a little this afternoon. *smile* How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

