From the northwest corner of a brand new crescent moon..

In my early 20’s, I was a Dead Head. This isn’t necessarily something I’ve tried to keep secret, but it also doesn’t come up much these days. I have boxes and boxes of bootlegs; they’ve been packed in those boxes for years.. possibly close to a decade now, and I doubt I’ll start listening to them again now. But I also have a third to half of the Dead’s studio albums, plus a smattering of their live CDs and as they’ve managed to come up on random in my iTunes, I remember just why I like them. In particular, it’s the songs written by Robert Hunter that tend to grab me most.

Terrapin Station has now popped twice today – once at home and once at work – so something out there appears to be trying to push a message through. For those unfamiliar with the song, the lyrics are available here, annotated. (For what it’s worth, Help->Slip->Franklin from Without a Net seems to have become a favorite of my work iTunes, which I find a little amusing.)

And because it jogged some brain cells, I also took pictures of my ink this morning. Mostly, this is for my own gratification, but I thought it might also be interesting for those of you who might be curious to see how the ink has settled now that everything’s fully healed.

(Clickable thumbnails, as usual.)

I couldn’t get a good picture of all the phases in one, and the picture of the ones on the right are blurry, but I think it’s good enough for now. You can’t tell where the touch-up in the full was done anymore, and while the later four phases still seem a little crisper to my eye, it’s no longer nearly as noticeable as it was when they were first done.

Leave a Reply

