Catching..

..squirrels.

(As usual, all photos are clickable thumbnails.)

After some phone tag and other missed connections, the squirrel guy came out last night to set a trap for the squirrel(s) in my wall. I’ve known there were squirrels up there for awhile, and when dad was here a few weeks ago and cleaned out the gutter on that side of the house, I learned that the damage is worse than expected: most of one complete fascia board has rotted away. At this point, I’m not sure which came first – the clogged gutter or the rotted board (it’s possible that the board rotted and caused the gutter to flex enough so that the mesh cover was dislodged in the wind; it’s also possible that the mesh cover was just dislodged and the gutter clogged and the constant moisture rotted the fascia) – but I did know that I would need the squirrels to be vacated before I could do any real fix to the fascia. So there’s now a squirrel trap coming out the side of my house, as well as several feet of wire mesh to patch the fascia and soffit so the squirrels can’t get out (or in again) any other way. One of them is either in trying to find another way out that’s not the trap, or out trying to find a way back in and has been making quite a ruckus this morning, so it may take a few days to get them out, but it will be worth it.

..up. I’ve been watching Heroes on Netflix for a while, first on DVD and then on demand for most of the second season. The last four episodes of the third season aren’t available on demand, though, which was annoying me until I went out to see if they were available directly from the network and realized that they haven’t aired yet. This might just be the first time in.. well, maybe ever that I’ve been caught up on every episode of a television series.

..on. One “side effect” of catching up on Heroes has been that I’ve been knitting again, after a several month hiatus. I’m still not as much into it as I have been in the past, but it’s a good accompaniment to movies and the like and now that it’s winter and darker longer I seem to have more patience for those kinds of things. I’ve finished the back and front of the cabled sweater I’ve been working on, and am about a third of the way through the first sleeve. I had the cable pattern memorized awhile ago, so this is almost mindless now. The photo is terrible, but unfortunately the best of the group.

Leave a Reply

