This isn’t it either..

.. the general update that is. *smile*

Instead this is a call to the general ether for suggestions, but it needs a little background.

I’m having a rather lovely, glorious morning. I got to meet with a faculty member this morning and talk about what I could do to help them with some planning they’re trying to do for their department and it’s the part of my job that I tend to like once I start it because most people start into meetings with me a little nervous. I’m a statistician and like it or not, that comes with a lot of stereotypes and expectations that make people won’t don’t live and die by the numbers a touch anxious. But I, personally, am also both a social worker and a policy analyst, which I like to think allows me to put data into context, though in truth any good institutional researcher can and will do just that. The numbers can tell any story.. it’s the people with the context who make the numbers tell the *correct* story. My role is to help tell stories, help provide some framework to display the intricacies of what really happens. So it makes me happy when, somewhere around the middle of meetings like the ones I had this morning, the trepidation starts to fade away and the conversation becomes about the story and how we can build the framework to bring out the most important pieces.

I’m now looking at the rest of the day – a day with no other meetings, a day where I can kick off my shoes, close the office door, and turn up my iTunes and .. hrm. I’ve heard everything in my iTunes a million times or more and while some of it definitely fits well with my current mood, a lot of it is stale. So.. here’s the call for suggestions.

I need new music. I’m open to pretty much anything but rap and overtly religious stuff; most of my music currently runs toward folk-ish (Indigo Girls, Cowboy Junkies, Barenaked Ladies, Moxy Fruvous, The Paperboys, etc.), classic rock (The Grateful Dead, Tom Petty, Traveling Wilburies, etc.), and a bunch of random bits. I’ve got a couple Pandora stations tuned to the sorts of stuff I like, but I’ve also found those to be pretty stale lately. So.. what am I missing? What’s good and new and not to be missed? I have a preference for buying actual CDs instead of electronic music (and I’m fine with outlets like CDBaby – it’s the only way to get some of the stuff I like), but if it’s only available electronically, I’m okay with that, too.

I don’t care if you know me or not – if you’ve stumbled across this randomly or lurk or anything – drop me a comment with a suggestion.

8 thoughts on “This isn’t it either..

  1. RAE says:

    i’m a big fan of girlyman, on the folkish side.

  2. mazzie says:

    I just heard The High Kings on NPR last weekend and fell deeply in love. They have an album on iTMS which I couldn’t recommend more highly. If you want some sample tracks to listen to, I suggest “Galway to Graceland” and “The Parting Glass.” You might also already know the last and only live track on the album, “The Wild Rover.”

  3. Sara says:

    Dixie Chicks – first three tracks of Taking the Long Way

    Pat Humprhies/Sandy Opataw aka Emma’s Revolution

    I’ll think of more 🙂

  4. Guinifer says:

    Have you used the Genius function on the newest version of iTunes? You can pick a song you like in your library, and it will suggest 25 songs to go along with it for a playlist – it also makes suggestions for additions you may like. VERY cool.

  5. Jeff says:

    For some high energy stuff, try Entrain. You already listen to Matt Nathanson, which is the only other artist I would know to suggest for those genres that you wouldn’t already be listening to.

    Other than that, about the only things I could suggest is more in the category of weird Jazz stuff.

  6. Judy G. says:

    Stan Rogers, Eva Cassidy, Loreena McKennitt. And like Guinifer said, Genius on iTunes is pretty neat.

  7. Sara says:

    Hey – glad you can maybe use the lanolin advice – I’ll send you some if you like – I’m in a rush and can’t dig out your email but email me at sarask8s at geemale dot com (sound that out and spell correctly of course)

  8. Rae says:

    just thought of another one! zoe mulford. her website, zoemulford.com, probably has some samples – i v. much like ‘elegy (crystal glass)’ if that’s up there, but all of her stuff is awesome.

Leave a Reply

