KnittyOtters Getting to Know You Contest

I’ve a bit of a weakness for otters, so I couldn’t resist KnittyOtter’s Getting to Know You Contest in honor of her 200th post! Congrats!

(For pictures of recent knitting, skip below the questionnaire..)

1.)How long have you been knitting?

Hrm.. really, pr’bly around 8 or 9 years. I learned pr’bly 10-11 years ago but didn’t really start knitting regularly until I went to grad school.

2.) How long have you been knitting socks?

About as long as I’ve been knitting.. pr’bly a year or so less. I was a bit ambitious and decided that I wanted to do my first socks from cotton.. I know better now – both how better to do cotton socks and that wool is generally more forgiving for socks! I also learned *after* making a few pairs where the toes were twisted out of alignment from the heel that I was twisting each and every stitch, which caused the tube of the sock to spiral on itself. Yeah.. not so useful.

3.) What do you do with a problem like Maria?

Let her loose in those hills and lock the doors. She was terribly romantic, and didn’t really strike me as the survivalist type. At most she’d have made it to the first real Alpine snow fall.

4.) What is your all time favorite sock yarn?

I don’t think I have one, which might be sacrilegious. At the moment, I rather like the Trekking that I started working with.. hrm.. several months ago. Should pr’bly get back around to working on those..

5.) Toe Up or Cuff Down?

Either, both? I like the economy of toe up socks, but there are so many patterns that are cuff down that I can’t be bothered to convert, so I’ll just knit them as written.

6.) What’s your favorite color (this week or for all time)? Do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?

Blue. (Which brings me back to that lovely Trekking.. really need to pick those up again..) For family or palette or whatnot.. jewel tones, fall colors.. deep, saturated colors. I’m not fond of visually striking combinations in most yarns – the pansy colorway I used for my Jaywalkers still sets my teeth on edge a bit – but I love it in nature. And I really love Ruth‘s hand-dyed nature-inspired yarns.. they’re all just so gorgeous!

7.) Do you have a pet(s)?

Yes. One (old) little black dog, Jalapeño, or just Jali for short.

8.) Babies: Oven Roasted or Barbecued?

Grilled, actually, with a little garlic and butter. 😛

9.) Besides socks what is your favorite type of thing to knit?

Heh. Um, depends on my mood. At the moment, I’ve been stricken with the urge to start sweaters (see below for proof!), but I could just as easily pick up a lace project. *shrug*

10.) What’s your favorite scent?

Mm.. that’s a hard one. There are way too many. Rain. Ocean breezes. Coffee. Campfire smoke. Fajitas. Good wine. Warm skin. Clean sheets dried in the sun. Bacon. Fresh cut grass.

11.) What music are you really loving right now? Like a song or a band?

Went on an Ani kick this weekend while with several friends, but lately I’ve been rather taken with Matt Nathanson, Gaia Consort, and the Paperboys.

12.) How many pairs of socks have you hand knit?

Uh.. Well, I have 8 or 9 in my own sock drawer, and I’ve knit at least that many as gifts, so call it 20ish?

13.) What’s your favorite treat? Salty or Sweet?

Both. There’s a jar of trail mix on my desk that is my ideal snack – peanuts, cashews, almonds, raisins, and M&Ms. As a child, I was inordinately fond of ants on a log and one of my favorite oddities is melted caramel between saltine crackers (think s’mores, but.. different).

14.) What was the most interesting thing you smelled yesterday. Not good or bad necessarily, just the thing that stuck out most so that you actually took notice of it.

Hrm. Shampoo. I’m out of my usual brand so used whatever was handy and I noticed it all day because it wasn’t what I’m used to.

15.) Needles – DPN’s: Wooden, metal or plastic?

Wood or bamboo. Metal is too hard on my hands and plastic just feels wrong. I almost exclusively use Harmony needles these days.

16.) What is your favorite sock pattern that you’ve knit? What do you recommend?

I really liked the 9-to-5 socks, but was also taken enough with Baudelaire to knit it twice.

17.) The last Question: If you were stuck on a deserted island who would you want with you, what knitting would you want with you and would you ever want to leave?

Kim & Tori. And maybe a chef or two. And if the island had good grape stock and clean water, we wouldn’t even need to leave to get more wine. 😛

Right then.. since I’m on the topic, thought I’d post a picture to prove that I actually was knitting this weekend past:

(As usual, all photos are clickable thumbnails.)

That is, in fact, the start of a cabled sweater! Yes, it’s mid-July, but I have hopes of completing it in time to be worn this fall. Given my knitting track record of late, that’s being fairly optimistic, but here’s hoping this is just the little shove I need to get back into the swing of things.

And just because I was out in the garden again last evening, I’ll leave you with a few pictures from there:

These are, again, the Hollyhock from the roses back by the garage, but I don’t remember having all four colors in bloom at the same time in the past, so wanted to be sure to capture it.

This is a blue sea.. something. I never remember the right name.. I just call it the Blue Alien Plant because that’s what it looks like. It’s in the front yard, between a couple balloonflowers which should start blooming any day now.

Leave a Reply

