Too late for WIP-it Wednesdays.. must be FO Friday..

Or.. something. I’m sleepy and have been fighting a cold for the better part of what should have been a week of vacation, so this might be short and photo-laden..

Fingerless Gloves (As usual, all pictures are clickable thumbnails.)

I have been thinking about making myself a new pair of fingerless gloves to replace the half-finger gloves I gave a friend last year for awhile. My sweetie gave me a swift for the holidays which prompted me to wind the two skeins of Chameleon Colorworks Evolution I had into center-pull balls and I decided it was soft and pretty enough (this is the Figgy Pudding colorway) to become fingerless gloves. I tried to do the Dashing pattern first, but the cable crosses made them *way* too tight, so I opted for a made up pattern for the cuff and tops and a basic glove pattern from a Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns for the hand. I like them. And they only took a day or so to knit up (yes, they’re both finished, even though only the first one is pictured).

Hrm.. this one’s a WIP..

DNA Scarf 122807

An update on the DNA scarf. While it’s small enough in diameter to use a 16 inch circular, the tiny, tiny needles on the 16 inch Knitpicks Harmony needle made my hands hurt, so I’m doing what I think is pr’bly a bastardization of the two-circular method. It doesn’t make my hands hurt and I’m making better progress, so all is well. Hope to have this one finished and on it’s way to the recipient sooner rather than later.

A WIP that is now a FO..

Kathys Slippers Drying These are another pair of Fiber Trends Felt Clogs, again just the uppers, made for my aunt Kathy, mom’s sister. This picture is while they’re drying, and, as with mom’s, they’ve got a bit of excess lint from the washer.

Kathys Slippers Finished Kathys Slippers Finished 2 And two finished shots, but neither of them are terribly clear. The color is closest in the first one.

And finally, a finished picture of the Garter Rib Sweater, which was a holiday gift for my dad:

Garter Rib Detail

For all it’s plainness, it is pr’bly the first man’s sweater I’ve made that I really like. It fits well and looks very good on dad.

I’ve also made some progress on Catalina, but don’t have an updated picture because the battery in my camera is dying. I’m just about through with the first repeat, though.. well, maybe only 2/3rds of the way through.. I’ll take another picture once I change to the next color most likely.

One thought on “Too late for WIP-it Wednesdays.. must be FO Friday..

  1. Judy G. says:

    Hey there. I have a question about your DNA scarf: It sounds like you’re knitting in the round (and the picture looks like it, too) but I can’t figure out from the directions how that can be. Am I missing something? As far as I can tell from the pattern, it’s a flat knit.

Leave a Reply

