Must resist.. ooh, shiny! (Updated with pictures)

(Okay, so now that I’ve put in the pictures, MOM: GO AWAY. You can come back in a week. Love you!)

Gah. I am not doing many knitted holiday gifts this year (really just one, maybe two.. or.. well, three if I .. make that *four*.. uh, hrm.. yeah, five.. if I can make it all work), but I’ve managed to totally lose my knitting mojo anyway. I have about 6 inches of sleeves left on one project and I just can’t seem to focus on it. I’ll sit down, knit a few rows.. and get distracted by.. anything.. everything. *sigh*

Updated to add pictures – here are the sleeves as of.. sometime this weekend, I think. They’re not much farther now. One of them is lying on top of the other in this picture as I’m knitting them both at the same time on a singular circular.

This weekend I thought I’d find my mojo again if I just kicked out one of the smaller projects, and that worked until I ran out of the yarn I was using for the project. The yarn which had been hand-dyed. *sigh*

(As usual, all the pictures are clickable thumbnails..)

The little white specs are from where the skein was tied, but I kind of like how they make the yarn look a little heathered. These are the Fiber Trends Felt Clogs, but without the bottoms as I have some fleece-lined slipper soles for the bottoms. The pattern is written to make this possible, but I’ve never seen a pair actually done this way, so here’s hoping they turn out! I’m knitting with two strands of Paton’s Classic Merino held together. As you can see, I just have the cuff on the second one to finish.

It’s *possible* that I can recreate it well enough (it was some Paton’s Classic Merino that I dyed with Tropical Punch Kool-Aid*, so it’s not like I can’t reproduce the conditions nearly exactly or anything), but at the same time, the idea of *fulling* something that was dyed like this made me a little nervous from the start (but then, I told myself that if the dye all went down the drain, I could just overdye the finished product in more Kool-Aid.. right?), so that ended up in a paroxysm of “was this really a good idea after all?”

All the same.. I think I’ll stop out at Michael’s on the way home tonight and grab another skein of the Paton’s and then stop at the grocery store and grab some more Tropical Punch.** I have a back up plan for this one if the Kool-Aid dyed stuff doesn’t work, so I’m not that concerned, but .. yeah.. that whole mojo thing, combined with the realization that there are just a mere *7* days until Christmas.. yeah.

* Yeah.. on that.. did that .. last week sometime, I think. It was very nifty and SO very easy. I mean.. really. Bring pot of water to boil, stir in Kool-Aid, drop in skein of yarn, wait until water goes clear. Yeah. Dead. Simple. And yes, I did take a picture of the finished skein, but the camera is at home, so I’ll post it later.

And I have a whole slew of yarn I got from KnitPicks in their “bare” states, so I’m sure there will be more Kool-Aid dyed goodness.. I just have to find that colorwheel that I know I saw somewhere that showed what colors you get from which flavors…

** Yeah.. on that.. did that.. last night. *smile* I love that this so both so easy and so predictable! I think the color matches *very* well.. (and yes, I was careful to tie the skein a little tight so that I’d still get the white speckles.. *grin*)

3 thoughts on “Must resist.. ooh, shiny! (Updated with pictures)

  1. Cathy-Cate says:

    Love that Kool-Aid! Is this what you were thinking of? http://www.knitty.com/issuefall02/FEATdyedwool.html
    The only thing is, some of those colors aren’t available any more, ’cause the article is from 2002. Oh, well.
    Yes, the 7 days till Christmas thing just hit me too. Before that, it was over a week away, no problemo; and two weekends before Christmas, too! Now I have a cold, and last weekend was full of work and kid things, and I have a busy week at work, and lots to do at home besides knit, and the adrenaline is majorly kicking in! Because I was (not was, AM!) planning on making things for assorted family members, and I have a commissioned project too (luckily much less intensive than your lace shawl — which I’m sure the recipient loved).
    ARGH! Gotta go and knit!

  2. fun facts says:

    Got a little bit confused while reading :S

  3. nova says:

    I alway get myself in trouble when I put a limit on what I am doing. I start to feel bad about the people I left off the list. I think I need to get over this.

Leave a Reply

