Possible first spinning wheel?

A colleague mentioned that her family has been spending a good deal of time this summer going through items on their farm in order to prepare them for an auction on August 11. When she mentioned they had quite a number of antiques, I asked if there were any spinning wheels.

(Both pictures are clickable thumbnails; click them to load a larger version.)

She sent me the pictures above of one of the two that are available (though you can also see a piece of the second one in the bottom left corner of the first picture). I have no idea what the shape of these wheels is and can’t tell from the photos if they might be worth investing in as a first wheel for me; I can say that they likely need at least a little TLC, but I can’t figure out if they’re actually whole and working (and given that I’m not a wheel spinner already, I’m not sure I’d know even if I could sit down and spin on one). I’d really appreciate any feedback or observations from any of my spinning friends out there, including how I might be able to tell if the wheels are in need of major work if I’m not able to actually sit at them and try them out!

2 thoughts on “Possible first spinning wheel?

  1. Sara says:

    I need better pictures to have much of an opinion!

    Could they send you clear photos of the wheel as if you were looking at the width of it?? and some closeups of the flyer assembly (the thing that holds the bobbins)? And some other random closeups?

  2. mamacate says:

    It looks like the bobbin is there (where the yarn winds on), but I don’t see a flyer. It’s possible it’s there, but you can’t see it. Unless it’s complete and spins, I’d say it’s not worth more than $100. Can you go look at it? If it’s far away, the shipping probably makes it not worthwhile unless, again, it’s complete. You can pretty much restore anything, but having the bobbin and flyer make a huge difference. The other key thing is to make sure the wheel spins true. I don’t know who fixes antique wheels in the midwest, but I expect you can find someone, or do it yourself (get yourself a copy of Alden Amos).

    If she can take pictures of all the places moving parts come together, and get pictures of the wheel from all angles, plus if there are parts she doesn’t know where to fit, photograph those too, we could probably say more.

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

