Visible support.

Sorry to disappear for a bit only to reappear briefly with another no-knitting content post (that will come pr’bly tomorrow), but I think this is important.

You’ve got to watch this video. Thousands of people are attacked every year because of their sexual orientation, and there’s still no federal hate crimes law to protect them. This video is a very powerful statement on hate crimes, and I couldn’t help but pass it on. I think you’ll see why.

There’s a bill in the Senate right now that would address this heartbreaking problem, and we only have a few weeks until the vote. It would mean a lot to me if you could take a minute to watch the video and write your Senators, and then please, please, spread the word. I really believe none of us can sit this one out.

I wear two of those little silicone bracelet things regularly. The blue one is for the National Urea Cycle Disorders Foundation in honor of my niece who was diagnosed late last year with Ornithine Transcarbamylase Deficiency (OTC). The purple on is for the Matthew Shepard Foundation because I believe that it is important to take some visible and daily stand against hate crimes. I can’t solve the problem of hate crime, but I can do some small things to make it a visible one, one that can’t be ignored or hushed up. Writing and calling my elected representatives and asking them to support the Matthew Shepard Act is one of those things. Won’t you please do it, too?

Edited to add: I received the following response from Minnesota Senator Norm Coleman and I thought I would share for those who might be interested in where he stands on this important legislation (and yes, I’m fully aware this is likely a form letter, but it still states his views and confirms that he does intend to support the bill):

Dear Me: 

Thank you for taking the time to contact me concerning the Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act (S. 1105 ). 

Minnesota already has similar laws and it does not appear that there have been problems in its application or enforcement. Accordingly, I am inclined to support this at the federal level.

As you may know, the Local Law Enforcement Hate Crimes Prevention Act of 2007 (S. 1105) was introduced by Senator Kennedy (D-MA) and referred the Senate Judiciary Committee for further consideration. This legislation would provide resources to law enforcement officials to enhance prevention and prosecution efforts of hate crimes. Companion legislation (H.R. 1592) passed in the House on May 3, 2007. 

Thank you once again for contacting me. Please do not hesitate to contact me on any issue of concern to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Norm Coleman
United States Senate

One thought on “Visible support.

  1. rae says:

    very cool – thank you!

Leave a Reply

